The NSMA membership votes on our own State and National Sportscaster and Sportswriter of the Year Awards as well as Hall of Famers. From October 15-November 15, NSMA members provide up to three nominations for each category. The top two (plus ties) receiving votes in each state (plus ties) are placed on the final ballot, along with the top ten (plus ties) for the national awards. NSMA staff and board members combine to nominate the ten Hall of Fame finalists in each category. Final ballots are emailed to members on December 1, for voting through December 31. Winners are announced on

To help promote diversity, the NSMA presents the Clarence "Big House" Gaines College Basketball Coach of the Year Awards (NCAA Div. I and Div. II) at its June awards banquet.

The NSMA membership has the privilege of voting for the Paul "Bear" Bryant College Football Coach of the Year Award, in conjunction with the Houston (TX) chapter of the American heart Association. Voting begins after the College Football Playoff National Championship game (Monday night) and concludes at Noon CT on the day of the Bryant Awards dinner (Wednesday night) two days later.

A select group of NSMA members vote for the monthly and annual Hickok Belt Award, symbolic of the world's best professional athlete. The winners are announced monthly on