Bear Bryant Awards Campaign Begins

Luke Fickell (Photo provided)
Luke Fickell (Photo provided)
College football season is here, and the American Heart Association’s Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards campaign has begun. Now in its 38th year, the campaign honors the legendary Alabama football coach who died of a heart attack just 28 days after his final victory in the Liberty Bowl. Bryant’s leadership inspired grit, patience, teamwork, and determination. Today, the Bryant Awards salutes coaches who have reached that same high standard of excellence on and off the field and educates a new generation on leading a heart-healthy lifestyle.

NSMA members provide the voting body for the Bryant Award, and will receive their ballots immediately after the conclusion of the College Football Playoff National Championship Game on Monday, January 9, 2023.

The annual awards, held in Houston each year, celebrate the top names in college football for the only award bestowed post-season and after the National Championship has been played. Who will join the illustrious ranks of Gene Stallings, Mack Brown, Dabo Swinney, Nick Saban, and the 2021 Coach of the Year Luke Fickell? Tune in on January 11, 2023, for the awards ceremony presented by Marathon Oil. Learn more at

  « Back