1993 – Murray Olderman

Born in New York, New York, on March 27, 1922, legendary sportswriter Murray Olderman’s work appeared in 750 Daily Newspapers for the best part of 35 years. Olderman’s work was distributed by the Newspaper Enterprise Association, starting in 1952. During his 33 years with the association Olderman served as a sportswriter, columnist, cartoonist, sports editor, executive editor, and contributing editor. Even after his official retirement in 1985, he continued to contribute work to the association. For his outstanding work as a cartoonist, Olderman was named Sports Cartoonist of the Year in 1974, and again in 1979, and has his football murals hung in the Football Hall of Fame. During his career he also received the Dick McCann Award for distinguished football reporting. In addition to his work in newspapers, Olderman was also the author of eleven books and illustrator of nine others. He also served as the president of the Football Writers Association, and was the founder of the Jim Thorpe Trophy, awarded to the National Football League’s most valuable player; and the Maurice Podoloff Trophy, awarded to the National Basketball League’s most valuable player. For his outstanding career, Olderman was inducted into the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association Hall of Fame on April 26, 1993.